Thread: Noob here with some e36 turbo questions

My Cars
    Turbo Prelude

Noob here with some e36 turbo questions

Im getting kinda tired of the prelude and was thinking of going with an m3 especially after reading up on a turbo kit that produced 389 @8.5 psi anywho what i was wanting to know is what is the max anyone has gotten on a stock block turbo m3 ? how much boost and hp has been achieved and lasted for lenghty period of time ? 389 sounds nice enough for me to sell the lude and go for it but id really be sold if they are capable of making alot more without building the block . any info or reference links would be appreciated thanks

also how do these cars hold up ? as far as crap breaking on them are they well built or what .

My Cars
    Turbo Prelude
    come on anyone wanna help a fella out with some info lol

My Cars
    93 325is
    also a stage 1 turbo for an M3 is $10,000
    Last edited by Hawaii; 05-19-2003 at 01:36 AM.

My Cars
    Wuper Tuper Fuper
    14 psi or less is recommended on stock internals ... I know others are boosting more than 14 psi; but, I think as a general rule of thumb 14 psi or lower ... unless you are willing to throw money into water injection, bigger radiator, larger turbo, etc... then basically you are looking at EASILY almost 50% more money.

Why do you want a BMW that's turbo? if you are looking for power, this is the wrong car honestly. 2JZ-GTE is more the calling you should be looking at. No matter how much power can be tweaked out of our engines ... we will always be smoked by other cars.

The Evo 8, STi, and probably even the SRT-4 are good examples of cars that could probably match or even beat a BMW that is running 8.5psi. I doubt you would run any higher boost on a track as well.

Are you going to do HPDE's, auto-x, have you ever done any of those? If not, you'd be surprised at how DAMN fast a stock e36 is. Having someone take you on a 1:24 lap when you can only manage 1:46 is humbling ...

My Cars