Thread: 2002 Big Bumpers

My Cars
    Jet Black 2003 M3 Coupe

2002 Big Bumpers

im looking to buy a 2002 but dont like the years with the big bumpers...i was wondering if there was a way to just take them off...? i mean obviously this is possible but to take them off and have it look right...anyone have any pictures of this?

is there any sort of fiberglass body kit/air dam/front valance type things to go in its place? im new to these cars so any info would be nice...

My Cars
    M3,318is,1600,1802,520
    bmw2002.com they sell the front air dam for the car it will look good with or with out a bumper

2002faq.com they have a fiberglass replica for the rear one

if it has the big bumpers im assuming the car is 74-76 i think the one they have on 2002faq is for the early one but im 90% sure it will fit with out a problem

i installed a 1602 '71 bumper on my 74 1602 with out any problem!!

....and 2002 without bumpers they look ok IMO

My Cars
    several
    Big Bumpers in the Us model year 1974-76. They can be removed and replaced with the smaller ones. takes some bodywork to make it look perfect.

My Cars
    71 2002,98 323iC,94 325i
    See Keith Kreeger's website, www.my2002tii.com. He has Euro bumpers on a '74 tii. In his October 2002 upgrade diary, he removed the "diving board" bumpers and did the necessary bodywork to fit bumpers from a '72 2002. And in March of 2003 (Part II), he installed the bumper mounts for the earlier bumpers. Extremely well illustrated with close-up pics.

My Cars
    00 M5, 12' Ducati SF
    I'm keeping the rear bumper on mycar, i drilled out the shock absorbers through and pushed it in, gives it a 100% cleaner look, and i've removed the front bumper, but i have to remove the shock absorbers outa the chassis. ireland engineering has a bunch of body kits, front air dams, etc.

My Cars
    '81 320/6 Baur