Thread: CRANK, CRANK no start. HELP!

CRANK, CRANK no start. HELP!

I think I have a similar problem, starting today my 87 325is would just crank and crank, and not turn over. my guess was the fuel pump. but reading through the other threads on the subject, i guess it could also be the ECU. My question though is if my ECU # is 0261 200 380, can I use a different one like a 153? Also, does the buzzing fuel pump (the one beside the driver side rear wheel) buzz when the ignition is in the on position? Any info appreciated guys! Man, and I just got the car back on the road from a strut housing replacement. Damn! I love these BMW's

My Cars
    318iS 91 - x3 05 - m3 97
    i'm no expert but that can help ya

when you turn to the position "ON" the fuel pump start for about 1 sec and stop.

if the fuel pump is buzzing more than before...it means it will fail SOON...i would change it.

do you get a spark??? i would check that

My Cars
    1996 M3 lux, 1988 325
    I don't know the exact operation of the fuel pump on the <=87 but usually when the key is first switched to run, the fuel pump will run for a few seconds to build up pressure. Then it will shut off. After the car starts or is cranked, the pump will start again.

Some of the ECUs are interchangeable. I know for a fact that a 153 and 154 will interchange. These two might also be replaceable by a 173.

Check all your fuses first. Make sure the main relay is being energised and is closing. If that one fails the car will not run. A way to check to see if the DME is working is to check for spark. The ingnition will not fire if the DME is either broken or not powered up. I believe the CE light is also directly controlled by the DME.
    == Stable mates ==
    -1996 M3 Lux, bright red (hellrot), Modena interior. Aus Freude Am Fahren!

-1988 325, Alpenweiss. The commuter.
    BMW HOWTOs