Thread: Burning smell and other questions

My Cars
    Avus Blue M3

Exclamation Burning smell and other questions

Im learning to drive stick, and well, Im not THAT good at it so far. My question is, when i park my car in the garage, there is a burning smell. I've heard this is from the clutch burning up cuz I tend to abuse it as I am learning how to properly use it. What do you guys think? The smell is still around in the engine from 24 hours ago and the smell tends to be stronger on the right side. I've also heard that it could be my oil burning. What causes the oil to burn? Which is more probable, clutch or oil and how can I find out.

I purchased the car from a used car dealership and they had just serviced it with new rotors & pads (high rumbling sound when I stop, kinda like a high roll resistance on pavement for you bikers), fluids, etc. They used cheap ass rotors and pads and I am not sure if the oil they used is good or not. What else should I look out for?

Ok, since that was so long, Ill just number the questions I need help with:

1. What is the burning smell?
    2. Will shitty rotors and pads cause a high rumbling sound when stopping?
    3. Why does oil burn?
    4. When I turn the front wheels all the way to the left, there is a high-pitched grinding/chirping sound...what's up? It's not the alignment.
    5. Did manual cars come with ASC?

Thanks for bearing with me, and thanks for all your help.
    blahosidfnsd

My Cars
    E36 M3's
    1st car speedlimit? smell is most likely clutch, especially if it is still there 24 hours later.
    Dakar 95 M3 (4/95 manufacture)
    Techno Violet 97 M3 (12/96 manufacture)
    Alpine White 16 535i M-Sport (10/15 manufacture)

My Cars
    M3/4
    1) If it smells like burnt cookies, then it's probally the clutch
    2) Possibly, especially if the rotors are warped (do you ride the brake as well as the clutch )