Thread: Another "first track day" thread...

My Cars
    Brilliantrot E30 318is

Another "first track day" thread...

I'm attending my first HPDE May 24 at NHIS with the Boston Chapter BMW CCA.

One specific question: I'm running Hawk HPS pads right now front + rear on OEM rotors. Other than a fresh brake flush w/ high quality DOT 4, does anyone have any recommendations for upgrades before I hit the track? Track pads? I've already removed the factory dust shields up front per the tech sheet.

I'm not a total newb to driving, I've done a bunch of autocrosses and slow speed driving schools, but I plan to take it extremely easy during this first event. My car is, for sure, way beyond my skill level for the high speed stuff. (e30 318is w/ midly worked over S50, GC/Koni suspension w/ camber plates, hankook rs-2 205/50-15)

I'm open to any and all advice. Thanks!
    S50'ed 318is

My Cars
    4 old ones
    Quote Originally Posted by brew View Post
    I'm attending my first HPDE May 24 at NHIS with the Boston Chapter BMW CCA.

One specific question: I'm running Hawk HPS pads right now front + rear on OEM rotors. Other than a fresh brake flush w/ high quality DOT 4, does anyone have any recommendations for upgrades before I hit the track? Track pads? I've already removed the factory dust shields up front per the tech sheet.
    I think stock pads are OK for first HPDEs but it's been awhile since I was at NHIS.

Remove dust shields? Are you talking about the things people use between the hub and wheel or the factory shield behind the hub?

...steven BMWCCA 146825
    http://318ti.org | http://bmwcca.org/forum
    1995 318ti Club Sport - 1996 328ti Sport - 1991 325iC - 2003 Mini Cooper S

My Cars
    2006 M Coupe, 1949 Cadillac
    Start out stock. The fluid change is wise. Make sure you have sufficient pad material. That way you get a good baseline for your skill improvement. After that, make no more than one change between track events.

My Cars
    M3