1997 COSMOS M3/4

question for brake experts

(I tried searching for info ...no joy
    so apologies if you seen this before)
    MY QUESTION: Bentley manual says
    "Special equipment required"
    ie read GO TO STEALER
    in order to bleed brakes
    on M3 with Traction/Stability Control (ASC+).
    Is this true or BS?
    I drive 97 M3. anyone know?

I'm thinking of changing pads + rotors
    soon for 1st time and I'm a novice to this so
    trying to get all info to do it right,
    TIA
    Niall
    [img]
    [/img]

M3*TR
    97 M3/4 COSMOS BLACK

My Cars
    98 M3/4 && 02 325iT
    no need to bleed the brakes if you're just changing pads or rotors and are happy with the firmness of your brake pedal.

only if you:
    - have a mushy pedal
    - disconnect a brake line
    should you need to bleed the brakes.

there have been lots of discussions about brake bleeding on M3's, since "to do it right" the dealer will attach some electronic gizmos to your car to run the ABS pump as well as the ASC pump (which both use the brakes). there have been debates about if this is really necessary. let your pedal foot decide.

zs

My Cars
    2003 M3 SMG
    I changed the pads and discs on my car with out bleeding and everything works fine. Just make sure the cap is off the reservoir before you push the caliper pistons in when installing the new pads. As long as you don’t start pressing the brake pedal down when you do this you’ll be fine ! If you like the firmness (or fading) of you current setup then you could leave the same brake fluid in an do what I mentioned above. Seems to work ok for me. I think if I had to bleed them I’d go to a shop though. Good luck on the brake change…you’ll have to pound the hell out of the rotors go get them off.

--J
    2003 M3

My Cars
    BMW 540i