Thread: Code Confusion - Need Advice

My Cars
    97 328i, CBR 600F4i

Code Confusion - Need Advice

Hello All-

I have been throwing a CEL for about the last 9 months. Its the dreaded EA and E9 'Catalyst Efficiency' codes. I usually reset it and it takes about 3 months go come back on but its now coming on more quickly. It only comes on when I'm going over 60mph on a longer haul trip. I've heard some people think it could be an after cat O2 sensor, some say a before cat O2 sensor...I say its the cats.

My only confusion is that I started getting both banks thrown at the same time. What are the chances of both sides going out at the same time?

Anyway, I think its time for me to change my cats. I've done a search and don't see many suggestions for an OBD II car. I'm a big stock setup guy but would go with an aftermarket converter if it would give me better flow and save me some money.

If you have suggestions of links to other sites that would help. I'm pretty handy with a wrench but not so sure about a welder.

I run 91 fuel for anyone who cares. I've heard that that can sometimes give an excessivly rich mixture. Not sure what to think about that.

Thanks guys

My Cars
    4 BMWs.
    I was getting similar codes, my problem turned out to be a bad/intermittant MAF sensor as well as a torn boot from said sensor to throttle body. I suppose the values that pass thru there show up as a fault near the cats.

-Al.
    2001 Z3 3.0i -Oxford Green/Sandbeige
    2016 428xi -Estoril Blue II/Black
    2018 430iC- Estoril Blue II/Black
    2018 330it - Melbourne Red/Venetian Beige/Black

My Cars
    97 328i, CBR 600F4i
    So you were getting both those codes and when you changed the MAF sensor they stopped coming back? I'll have to check that out, I bet its a lot cheaper.

My Cars
    97 328i, CBR 600F4i
    BUMP - Because I'm still confused

My Cars
    09 Yamaha R6s & 95 325iC
    Quote Originally Posted by Fly N Drive
    BUMP - Because I'm still confused