Thread: Turboing a 2002: How and with what?

My Cars

Turboing a 2002: How and with what?

I'm sorry if this topic has been made before. I'm not very good with the search and the only things that came up were turbo flares and such. If there was a threwad on this, mods feel free to delete.

I have a 2002 with an m10 with only 90k miles. I was wondering if it was possible to turbo it, and what supporting modifications would be required. Also, an estimated price and links to reccomend products would be fantastic.

Once again, if this thread is a repeat, please delete. Thank you.

My Cars
    BMW 2002
    Is it carbed or fuel injection?

My Cars
    Should have mentioned that, my fault.

It has the original Solex carb.

My Cars
    BMW 2002
    No Problem. Im not sure that carb would even work. Regardless, turboing with carbs is usually not worth it. You could probably do an engine swap and get reliabale horsepower for the same cost as getting a real running turbo setup. I know with dual sidedrafts, turboing involves boxing in the carbs to keep them pressurized(I think?), and is far less reliable and effective then a fuel injection setup. Buy the turboing book buy Corky Bell(there is one on supercharging as well), its full of a lot of good info, and if I remember correctly has a section on turboing with carbs. As far as supercharging goes(even though u didn't ask about it), the 2002 prepped for the Grassroots Magazine Challenge from maybe 2 year ago used a completely borrowed setup from another car. It bolted up to the m10 you have now, and still successfully utilized a carb, albeit a holley truck carb. Ill see if I can dig up some more info.

My Cars
    74 '02tii, 70 '02, 74 '02, 75 '02
    Here are some threads

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...ight=m10+turbo
    http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...ight=m10+turbo

try searching advanced in 2002 forum for m10 turbo and you'll get a bunch

My Cars