Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good exhaust system or not..?

My Cars
    1999 BMW 528i

Good exhaust system or not..?

I'm thinking of getting a new exhaust system from my buddies shop. It would be a magnaflow muffler, custom 2.5" or 3" (can't remember which one) piping, and take out the resonators. All this for around $250. What do you think? What do magnaflow mufflers sound like? I cant seem to find any sound clips. What performance gains to you think i will get on my 1995 325is?
    Thanks

My Cars
    2007 Honda Civic
    Little to no performance gain.

And I wouldn't recommend going with a makeshift Magnaflow type set up. Go ahead and pick up a known brand (not saying Magnaflow isn't, but BMW brands - ActiveAutowerke, Stromung, UUC, etc) full catback system with some 328/m3 cats as well and you'll be set.

My Cars
    1994 BMW 325i, 1996
    nothing wrong with a makeshift setup. I have a cheap flowmaster welded to some cheap pipe.

my car makes good power (202rwhp from a 2.8L with bolt ons) and wins lots of races.

sounds great too!
    http://www.framesdirect.com/sunglasses/ - Sunglasses!
    1994 BMW 325i - GUTTED,
    AD shocks, eibach race springs, motorforce camberplates, stud conversion, and RTAB limiters, tunnel exauhst, CAI/chip, underdrive pullies, fan delete, AC delete, sparco race seats, 18x9 Superlegerras, GC swaybar, 2.8L engine with M50 intake manifold
    AND
    1996 BMW 328 - daily driver

My Cars
    '12 135i
    Quote Originally Posted by jmott
    nothing wrong with a makeshift setup. I have a cheap flowmaster welded to some cheap pipe.

my car makes good power (202rwhp from a 2.8L with bolt ons) and wins lots of races.

sounds great too!
    You already have the good cats. That's where he needs to pick up most of his power. With '96-99 M3 or 328 cats and just a stock M3 exhaust, you can get some decent power. Couple those cats with an aftermarket exhaust you can get those couple more that you are talking about.
    -Jeff