Thread: E30 Suspension upgrade advice please

My Cars
    '87 Porsche 911, '90 BMW 325is, '01 Volvo V70 T5

E30 Suspension upgrade advice please

I am finally upgrading the suspension on my '90 325is. Presently have the stock 14" basket weave wheels with Yoko AVSES100 in 205/60 fittiment. Would like to upgrade to 15" wheels in the future.

I am thinking about either:

H&R Cup Kit shocks and springs which lower the car 2.1F & 1.7R

or

Koni Sport shocks with either Eibach Pro springs (1.6F & 1.4R) or H&R Sport springs (1.3F&R)

Also going with H&R Anti-roll bar kit (27mm F & 18mm R)

Any advice or pros and cons with either set up. With the extreme lowering of the H&R Cup Kit will I have any rubbing problems? Car is my daily driver and about 6 - 10 track days per year. I am an instructor with both BMWCCA and PCA at Sebring, Moroso, and Road Atlanta.

My Cars
    E36 M3
    From what I've heard, the E30 cup kit is too soft for its ride height. You'll be riding the bump stops on the track.

I think option 2 (with either spring) is going to be your better option.

My Cars
    E36 M3 x 2
    H&R Sports are stiffer than the Eibachs, I would go that route.

My Cars
    '95 BMW M3-V8, '04 Ram D
    Given that you are doing as many events as you are and that you are an instructor (thus I assume you know how to drive well enough to appreciate good suspension) I would recommend against all of your options and recommend that you consider a Ground Control setup. You can play with the spring rates to get the ride you desire, and in the end you can fine tune your car to your liking....something you can't do with any of your mentioned options.

If you need more info on setup, give us a call. Rich had a very competitive e30 with GC suspension, and we run variations of it on many, many customer cars.

My Cars
    '00 M Coupe, '90 325i