Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Preventing Subframe cracks

My Cars
    335i 6M & 2003 Z06

Preventing Subframe cracks

Im a newb and am looking at getting an M Coupe until I found out about the subframe issue. Now Im sorta hesitant and am leaning towards my second choice which is an E36 M3. I did a search and read some of the past posts but I still had some questions.

1) Do ALL MC's end up with subframe issues (cracks, rips, separations)?
    2) Are certain years more prone to the subframe issue. Would a 99 have more of a chance to develop these problems than a 2000??
    3) to prevent this from happening. Can I drill out the old spot welds and re-weld that area?
    4) are there anyways to prevent the differential mount from tearing or is there a way to beef it up?
    5) I've seen that many people wanted to take action at BMWNA by writing/calling/petitioning, has BMW responded in any way?

Thanks for any more insight about this topic. I really want to get an MC but I cant have this crap happening to a $20K+ used car.

Mike

My Cars
    z3 2.8
    its inevitable........MUAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA the subframe crack will own you MUAHAHHAHAHAHA...j/k...bump for the coupe guys.. #3 will solve your subframe problems along with custom extra reinforcement.(preventive maintenance).

My Cars
    '00 BMW MCoupe, '06 Mazda3 sT HB
    Vic, here are some quick answers & a definitive link to your questions:
    http://www.thelargeglass.com/bmw/subframe/
    1) No
    2) Anecdotal evidence suggest S52 cars but general answer NO
    3) Several solution available with 1 in NJ costing ~$800
    4) YES
    5) Case by case basis (but mostly favorable as good will gesture)

You've come to the right place.
    The car is bulletproof saved for this issue & can be remedied easily & with lotsa support from community!

Good luck in your search!

Quote Originally Posted by Vic Romano