Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Strange one - torque pro reading 18 V but battery at normal 13.7 when running

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    1,772
    My Cars
    96 BMW Z3

    Strange one - torque pro reading 18 V but battery at normal 13.7 when running

    Had a bit or fear today when I opened torque pro for the first time in months. The voltage was flashing (some sort of alarm) and fluctuating between 18.0 and 18.3 volts. I was worried it would fry my battery and I had no idea how long this has been going on.

    Got home, let the engine continue to run and checked voltage at the battery at 13.7 volts. So the voltage regulator is fine.

    I'm wondering though if somehow the ECU thinks there is 18V and whether it makes any trim adjustments based on voltage.

    It's a strange situation and deep in the electronics if the signal going to the OBD II port is part of the standard or if the OBD adapter just sees the voltage directly and reports it.

    Anyone know?
    Claude Berman, 96 Z3 Production Date 2/96 BMW CCA# 581686
    The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance. Socrates, 469–399 B.C.E

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great Dismal Swamp
    Posts
    16,121
    My Cars
    E36/7 E36/8x2 E46 F25
    The OBD2 dongle is just a communication interface. Everything displayed is provided by the DME. Assuming no misprogramming in the data conversion, the DME thought it saw 18V. 13.7V at idle does not mean 13.7 all of the time every time.


    /.randy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    1,772
    My Cars
    96 BMW Z3
    Quote Originally Posted by rf900rkw View Post
    The OBD2 dongle is just a communication interface. Everything displayed is provided by the DME. Assuming no misprogramming in the data conversion, the DME thought it saw 18V. 13.7V at idle does not mean 13.7 all of the time every time.
    Thanks for the clarification. At the time I measured it, the DME was reporting 18V at the same time the actual measured value was 13.7V so I gather the DME is somehow getting it wrong. I'll check it with INPA today and see if there is a difference (assuming INPA reports voltage, which I can't recall). The funny thing is that lately it seems the engine has never run better.
    Claude Berman, 96 Z3 Production Date 2/96 BMW CCA# 581686
    The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance. Socrates, 469–399 B.C.E

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,626
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    I've seen most modules shut down on purpose when there is vehicle overvoltage in newer cars. I'd be hard pressed to believe that the DME will even run at 18V, if it hadn't released the magical smoke by then. I believe you've had a history of DME needing replacement in the past?

    Still, I'd suspect a bug in the app. INPA menu for the DME 5.2 will have voltage in status menus for sure.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    1,772
    My Cars
    96 BMW Z3
    Having a bad day. Went to check with INPA and also my multimeter this morning and both read 13.7V at idle, so it was the Bluetooth adapter which proved it by being dead. No connection to the phone was possible or available now. So, no problem, the adapters are cheap.

    But then things went south when I tried to reset the service indicator lights. I tried jumping pins 7 and 19, then 7 to ground and every possible sequence of ignition on, jump, unjump, put the cap on before and after ignition on and it stayed at two green bars. Now I've done this in the past with no problems. Spent and hour and gave up - I guess I'll just have to live with whatever bars it wants to show. I even sprayed contact cleaner on the 20 pin, then gently scraped the inside of the the female terminals with a tiny screwdriver which is now lost under the battery tray (96s have battereis mounted where god intended). Now perhaps the bad Bluetooth adapter is causing the issue, so I'll exhume it from under the console when I get a replacement, but I doubt it's causing this issue. And why do spell checkers insist the word 'Bluetooth' be capitalized?
    Claude Berman, 96 Z3 Production Date 2/96 BMW CCA# 581686
    The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance. Socrates, 469–399 B.C.E

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,626
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    Haha, because king Harald Bluetooth was a real dude.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I always had the best success by bridging pins 7 and ground while I counted to 10 using all the Mississippis. Sometimes it didn't work.

    Hopefully pin 7 is all good.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Flowery Branch (NE Atlanta), GA
    Posts
    489
    My Cars
    MZ3 Roadster
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberman View Post
    And why do spell checkers insist the word 'Bluetooth' be capitalized?
    It is a patented bit of tech from Ericsson.

    Hope you figure out the issues with your other electronics. I always dread having to troubleshoot electrical stuff.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    573
    My Cars
    2000 2.3 Z3, 2007 328xi
    ya know there is NO other way then shorting those pins to reset the service light - prove me wrong - my ancient pac man ADS adapter came with a toggle switch - I remember I had to build that damn thing from scratch - it came as a kit - ah the good old days of software interfaces. Might have even been serial only at that time.

    “Great wisdom is generous; petty wisdom is contentious.” 无为

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,626
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    Quote Originally Posted by ZGator View Post
    ya know there is NO other way then shorting those pins to reset the service light - prove me wrong - my ancient pac man ADS adapter came with a toggle switch - I remember I had to build that damn thing from scratch - it came as a kit - ah the good old days of software interfaces. Might have even been serial only at that time.
    Hmmm we've all done it many times as a group here
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    573
    My Cars
    2000 2.3 Z3, 2007 328xi
    I have tried in all forms of software - ista/inpa etc - and could never do a reset - only the short of those pins.

    forgot the name of the guy who made that pacman ADS kit - Feister or something? - and yep, I have the wire with what a resistor connected? in the trunk -when the pacman cannot be found. My reset light takes like 20k++ to get down to yellow - which I use as an indicator but don't really obey it - I have only reset it about 8 times or so?
    Last edited by ZGator; 05-27-2024 at 05:33 PM.

    “Great wisdom is generous; petty wisdom is contentious.” 无为

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,626
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    Reading your initial comment, I read it that you couldn't get it to do it over the wire grounding method. (unsure how I got that, but possibly due to doing too many things at once)

    Not being able to do it over INPA/ISTA is because you're not using a genuine factory ICOM interface tool (or the old GT1 diagnostic head). Although I remember being able to tell the facelift cluster to clear it via diagnostics easily. I'll have to check.

    The command from INPA/ISTA to these older ones will tell the genuine tool to short pin 7 to ground
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    1,772
    My Cars
    96 BMW Z3
    Reading your initial comment, I read it that you couldn't get it to do it over the wire grounding method. (unsure how I got that, but possibly due to doing too many things at once)
    Correct. No amount of shorting that pin worked. If INPA lets me get into the cluster, I'll see if it will clear.
    Claude Berman, 96 Z3 Production Date 2/96 BMW CCA# 581686
    The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance. Socrates, 469–399 B.C.E

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    1,772
    My Cars
    96 BMW Z3
    So, just shoot me. I checked INPA and the Cluster shows, but I wasn't able to get into it as it bounced and error message. Then, I checked the pins and pin 19 is to ground and pin 7 showed about 11.83 volts with the ignition on as compared to 12.7V pin 19 showed. Then I tried one last time to short the two for about 15 seconds and it worked! Why it worked on the first try today and wouldn't after many tries yesterday is a mystery.

    Thanks to all who took the time to respond and comment.
    Claude Berman, 96 Z3 Production Date 2/96 BMW CCA# 581686
    The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance. Socrates, 469–399 B.C.E

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    573
    My Cars
    2000 2.3 Z3, 2007 328xi
    Thanks Abel for that explanation on the genuine interfaces actually shorting those pins with circuitry - overengineering, service revenue back in the day my ADS toggle switch will have to do!

Similar Threads

  1. Android Torque Pro
    By Driftin E46 in forum General BMW and Automotive Discussion sponsored by Intercity Lines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-06-2014, 11:30 PM
  2. Strange check engine light reading
    By gottabethejays in forum 1996 - 2003 (E39)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-02-2009, 07:38 AM
  3. Strange ebay sale, please read
    By shellback in forum 1988 - 1996 (E34)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 09:44 PM
  4. strange idle issue, please read
    By dakar1 in forum 1983 - 1991 (E30)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2004, 06:59 PM
  5. Torque Specs For 18s?
    By ///MDex in forum 1996 - 2002 Z3 (E36/7, E36/8)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-19-2004, 03:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •