Thread: E46 M3 SMG code 24 (from an Autel scan tool)

My Cars
    04 M3, 02 E39, 01 46 M3T

E46 M3 SMG code 24 (from an Autel scan tool)

I have not hooked up INPA yet as I just returned from a two Time Trials at Heartland Motorsports park. Since I have got the car up and running after building it, I have sorted various small issues. I have attended two SCCA TNiA as well as a local event at RPM in Iowa. Everything has been working fine until yesterday. After a few how laps the transmission started acting up. At first it was putting itself into 5th gear after upshifts from 3rd to 4th and then after a few downshifts to to 3rd. after a while, it became more apparent and finally lit the cog wheel. My Autel scanner showed code 024 Sequential Manual Gearbox (SMG), position sensor selection angle. Then upshifts from 3rd to 4th were being ignore, or skip to 5th, or just not shift. I started lifting the throttle on the 3-4 upshift and that helped SOME. Cog wheel lit again.

Can the position sensor sensor be tested installed or uninstalled? In normal driving none of this happens. After a couple hot laps at racing speeds it starts to happen, so possibly temperature related.

Any thoughts or suggestions? Tomorrow I will hook up INPA.

My Cars
    2001 M3 Coupe Track Car
    Didn’t have issues like you describe but I learned to do an smg bleed and adaptation each morning of a track event. Otherwise weird things happen.

That being said the gear position sensor is a common failure and wouldn’t be surprised if you needed to replace it.

My Cars
    04 M3, 02 E39, 01 46 M3T
    Quote Originally Posted by eacmen View Post
    Didn’t have issues like you describe but I learned to do an smg bleed and adaptation each morning of a track event. Otherwise weird things happen.

That being said the gear position sensor is a common failure and wouldn’t be surprised if you needed to replace it.