Thread: 1999 E36 Convertible 323ic Tonneau Cover closes on bunched headliner

My Cars
    1999 BMW 323ic E36

1999 E36 Convertible 323ic Tonneau Cover closes on bunched headliner

Hi. I'm new to Bimmerforums. My 1999 BMW 323ic convertible bought new for my wife's 1998 Christmas present. Just started having problems with the fully automatic top. The top is synchronized, the worn out stretch tension straps I've repaired but the tonneau cover is prevented from closing fully because the headliner is not folding out of the way on the way down.

I did check that the curved metal rod located in the front of the headliner is secure and curved outward in the right position. The two non-stretch tension straps it is attached to though are folded inward in the wrong position as the top down mechanism begins. If left alone on the top down procedure the headliner hangs up on the storage compartment. If I push on the slightly stiff straps they flip into the outward correct folding mode and no hang up of the headliner and all goes well. How do I get the straps along with the curved metal rod get into the correct position for folding on the way down without my help? Thank you if someone can help me figure this one out. Tut Monson

My Cars
    E39M5, E500 4WD
    Welcome to the forum, Tut. Sorry to have to share this with you, but:

Convertibles suck. Expect a life of misery. If you put it in the "closed" position, and disconnect the switch, at least you'll only have to deal with leaks and water in the floor and flapping noise at speed, and horrible chassis flex. E36 automatic convertible tops are pretty much the worst of the worst.

Chris Powell
    Racer and Instructor since, well. decades, ok?
    Master Auto Tech, owner of German Motors of Aberdeen
    BMWCCA 274412
    German Motors is hiring ! https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...1#post30831471

My Cars
    1999 BMW 323ic E36