Thread: Any L-Jet Gurus? Trying to save '84 318.

My Cars
    2022 X3 & (2) 1984 318i

Any L-Jet Gurus? Trying to save '84 318.

Good morning

I have an 84 318 I'm trying to resurrect. We already have another clapped out 318 that runs just fine, and probably has in excess of 300K miles.

This one is pretty nice, but it sat for more than half of its life. The stickers in the window indicate it was last registered in 2001.

I've owned several vintage Mercedes, VWs, and the other 318, and haven't really struggled to work on them or keep them running. I'm a diesel (heavy truck) tech by trade.

The fuel system in this car was a mess, and I get the impression from the lady I bought it from that it probably quit running sometime before it was parked. I drained the fuel and got it to cough and hiccup a few times, but that was it.

I have replaced the fuel tank, changed the in-tank pump, and replaced the filters. All 4 injectors were plugged, I was able to clean 2 of them, but I ended up replacing those too.

The plugs are new, cap, rotor, basic tune-up all done.

The car will start and idle, but it runs terribly, and is excessively rich, like a carburetor with the choke stuck shut. We're talking lumpy idle, and eye burning smoke.

Idle speed is, of course, too fast.

Fuel pressure at idle is 40 PSI. Disconnecting the vacuum line from the regulator increases pressure 5-6 PSI, indicating that it's working.

Temp sensors check out. The cold start valve doesn't work at all, but I've left it unplugged anyway, the point being that it isn't leaking fuel into the intake and isn't the problem.

The O2 sensor is disconnected. I've run many old Bosch systems this way, no problems, they're pretty happy in open loop. Reconnecting it causes it to run worse than it already deos. I assume it needs a new one, and I have one coming, but I know this should run ok in open loop. If it doesn't run well in open loop it'll never run well in closed loop.