Thread: BMW Replacement Battery Cost

My Cars
    2012 BMW 128i convertibl

BMW Replacement Battery Cost

Hi. I'm new here so forgive me if I'm in the wrong forum (it's my first time in ANY forum, anywhere). My 2012 128i convertible has been parked in the garage since August 2019 (long story) and the battery is shot. I tried to start it back in February/March 2020; AAA gave me a jump but told me I needed a new battery at that time. Then, Covid hit so here I am, 19 months later, finally ready to have it towed to the dealership to get the new battery.

Fortunately, I have a coupon from BMW USA for what I thought was "special" pricing. However, when I called the local dealer, it turns out it's not a special at all - it's their regular price. Moreover, they told me I need the Performance battery for $430 instead of the Standard battery for $320 "to support all the electronics" in the car.

So, my 1st question is whether or not I'm being told the truth about the type battery I need. I have no real car knowledge - I've mostly relied on my younger brothers for that but neither of them have ever owned a BMW so that won't work this time.

Secondly, has anyone in this forum ever had their BMW battery replaced by anyone other than a BMW dealership and had a good result? I know that the battery has to be registered to the car and other programming will be required, I presume. I don't want to take my car to just anyone but my options may be limited by living in Melbourne, FL (about 90 minutes east of Orlando).

Thirdly, I happened to check the reviews of the local BMW dealership and they are not very good. I'm concerned that when I have the car towed there, I'll end up leaving as angry as some of their other customers.

I would really appreciate any and all advice people can offer! Thanks!

My Cars
    I love turbos!