Thread: Stability issues at high speed E92 M3

My Cars
    MR2

Stability issues at high speed E92 M3

So I am an instructor with PCA and have a good buddy who requests me as an instructor at each event. I am BMW obsessed and have several M cars that I have tracked but currently run an E46M race car. I am however unfamiliar with the E92M chassis and am struggling to give advise on his car. Car is an 08 M3 with 90K on the clock, TC kline coil overs, single adjustable up front, double adjustable rear. We ran at Road Atlanta as his first event with his new car which was our base line. Car was setup to TC klines recommended rebound and dampening. I cannot remember the alignment specs we ran at RA. Car was great but on the high speed back strait going through the kink before the brake zone the car was super unsettled. To the point we would let off the throttle make the kink and get back on it. If you have ever raced in high winds where on the straits you catch a high cross wind that upsets the car, that's what it felt like. We firmed up the dampening and rebound but it made little difference. After that event we decided to replace the front upper control arm and install a monoball bearing in it, along with front and rear adjustable sway bars by hotchkis. We took it back to the alignment shop and had them align it to TC Klines recommended settings. This last weekend we were at Mid-O, the car did great everywhere except the back strait high speed kink. same damn thing, to the point the traction control light was kicking on at about 125mph. During the heavy brake zone the rear would dance around more than expected as well. I have never had this type of issue before on any of my track cars, E30, E36, E46 none were unstable at high speed. One thing to note is that the full coil over kit was new from TC with the exception of the rear double adjustable shocks, they were rebuilt. The next thing i can think to recommend it send them out to be rebuilt/tested again and or put a win