Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Calling big brains brakes replaced/upgraded, front rotors drag, rears get hotter

My Cars
    1999 BMW M3 Coupe

Calling big brains brakes replaced/upgraded, front rotors drag, rears get hotter

Calling all big brain brake guys for a little help troubleshooting. This is my first attempt at a major brake job replacing parts and upgrading others.

I have a lot of detail to explain, so I'll try to keep it more bullet point style.

* '99 M3 with stock calipers. Aftermarket powerstop rotors and ceramic pads from R0ckAut0 which were done 3 yrs ago. I've owned this m3 since 2004, and has 120k easy mi.

* Initial problem - Super mushy pedal. Discovered during inspection the left rear rotor cracked in multiple places from extreme overheating. ebrake shoes were dragging due to one spring not seated properly. Spring reseated and ebrake adjusted so the hub spun freely. Looking good so far. Ordered replacement rear rotors (same brand), and decided to change pads to Akebono ceramic pads (all four corners) for better initial bite than powerstop ceramics - only driving short distances these days, and car has never been tracked. Cream puff basically.

* Plan was/is to stick with the same brand/type of rotors, upgrade brake lines to Turner stainless dot approved lines on all four corners. Upgrade caliper guide bushings to bronze (ECS kit) with new guide pins (used white silicone grease to lube them). Pressing in those bushing as a total pain, but they are in now. Possibly replace caliper pistons - bought kit for the rears, but did not install them (yet?). Bleed, bleed bleed, then break in the pads per Akebono directions.