Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My first BMW and plans

My Cars
    '99 Z3M

My first BMW and plans

So, this is my first BMW. It's a 1999 Z3M. I'm super excited about it. I've been on a National Guard deployment for the past year andy wife granted permission to buy a little toy. I'm a BMW salesman in my civilian life so I finally get to truly represent the brand I love to sell.

I fell in love with the color. It's white with black and red interior. It needs a little work but overall it's a good car. The first thing I'm working on is the paint. It's been very neglected. I've never seen a car with so many contaminants. I've been working on clay barring the entire car between the break in the Oregon rain. The pics below is what I'm dealing with.

I'll buff out the car as soon as I finish the clay bar. The paint will not be perfect though. Instantly you can tell the the front and rear bumper have been repainted. Upon close inspection you can tell the hood has been painted. There are 3 slightly different colors of white. I'm not done with the clay bar so I may find more.

I need to replace the suspension. I am thinking I'll go with H&r springs and Koni shocks. I'll be doing this as soon as the Koni shocks come in stock. Turner says it will. Be mid February.

I also need to replace the sound system. It sounds like you are listening to a radio show coming from a paper bag. It's pretty terrible. I have a Helix amp and 3-way component set coming

I also need to do a lot of little things like paint the tacky carbon fiber spoiler and replace the q-ball shifter. I look forward to logging my progress here.

Ames

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
    Last edited by RX7ames; 01-04-2021 at 10:31 AM.

My Cars
    1997 Z3 2.8 Roadster
    Congratulations and welcome!
    That's a sharp color combination...I doubt it's very common among M Roasters.