Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First Turbo Conversion - E36 M52 - Low Budget

My Cars
    E36 328i

First Turbo Conversion - E36 M52 - Low Budget

Hello everyone,

First of all I must say I am glad that I have found this forum full of experienced bmw enthusiasts. I have never done this before and also I have never owned a turbo car so this will be quite a challenge for me but I am willing to learn and I am super excited to start this built.

So why I have decided going turbo ?

I am competing in local drift challenge for last 2 years and 142kW is just not enough these days. I have been thinking about swap possibilities (M60, M54B30,... and other bolt ons) but in the end I realized that this project could be a great experience (or nightmare, as I read some of yours build threads ) and I always wanted a turbo.

I will be aiming somewhere around 8 psi, and I will be happy with 300whp+. I am limited with stock HG and stock studs.

I have spent pretty much all holidays reading and learning about these conversion and I have ordered first parts.

Plan is:

M52B28 - Stock everything. (Even intake manifold, because M50 manifolds are pretty unavailable or overpriced, I am now just trying to google if this manifold can handle some boost, as I have not found many builds with it)

Fuel - E85

Turbocharger - Trying my luck with ebay GT35, ordered this one: https://www.ebay.com/itm/254797279196

Ebay cast - manifold turned upside down to be top mounted (I have ordered two T3 flanges extra just for welding pipe between turbo and manifold to place turbo where it suits my needs)

Injectors - Bosch 550cc from Mustang

Fuel pump - DW200 255lph, stock rail, stock FPR. Hope it will be enough.

Standalone ECU - KDFI 1.4 PnP (MS2), Ecumaster ? Do not know yet. But I prefer plug n play.

Budget is tight, and I need to finish this in 4 months, before start of new season.

Thank you in advance for the advice and tips, I am trying to keep budget low but also I want to do it properly.