Thread: Performance Chip or ECU upgrade for N51 motor

My Cars
    '09 128i, '04 325ci

Performance Chip or ECU upgrade for N51 motor

My '09 128i E88 came wtih the N51 motor (confirmed) and therefore the DISA 3 stage intake manifold.
    Is it better to get a 'plug and play' or remap my ECU with a stage 2 from Bimmerworld to optimize this intake?

Do these chips simply plug into OBD ? Is mapping an ECU from BM as easy as they make it sound and could I change it back just as easily for smog inspection?
    I'm new to modding these cars and want to be able to remove whatever computer performance mod to pass CA smog when needed.
    Is this how it works?

Thanks for your patience with these noob questions. Any help is appreciated.

My Cars
    2018 BMW M240i
    There are 2 ways to up the power from the engine computer (DME in BMWspeak). The first way is to flash the DME with a different set of “maps.” A map is basically a set of data which the DME references to determine parameters such as ignition timing, fuel injection timing and duration, turbo boost, etc. The issues are that you need a laptop computer, the maps can be overwritten by the dealer if there’s a software recall or update and you can “brick” (render it unusable) the DME if you screw up. The other way is to “intercept” the gas pedal signals (your car is throttle by wire with the DME reading the pedal’s position) and mod those signals. It’s a less sophisticated way to increase power.

My Cars
    '09 128i, '04 325ci
    Quote Originally Posted by MarcoZandrini View Post