My Cars
    2002 Bmw X5 3.0

Question 2002 X5 3.0 hazards turn on randomly, random alarm issues

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and have been searching in vain for some guidance. My 2002 X5 has been acting up. Well maintained, 140k on the clock, no deferred maintenance The hazards will randomly turn on (typically right after starting or shortly thereafter rolling down the driveway) interior lights turn on, doors unlock. Open the door, hit the hazard button and off they go. Its cold out normally (under 32 degrees) and I suspect from other threads that this is related to what's commonly called the crash control module giving up the ghost finally. I've read that the ccm is now included in the SRS relays. However...I can't figure out where the heck the relays are on my car. The fuse boxes and panel diagrams have no reference to it. These used to be a common thing. I found a reference to a relay with part number 61-35-8-365-960, but even that doesn't tell me where to find the darn thing to see if that's it. My hazard/doorlock switch was shot so I replaced it already but the problem continues. I don't suspect the battery b/c its not very old and in good shape. Car has aftermarket rear and front LED head/tail lights I thought might be part of it, but I don't think so. Alarm was randomly going off as well, but I pulled that fuse to try to isolate the flashers issue for now.

Guidance, wisdom, ideas?

Thanks all
    Granny2002

My Cars
    '13 E70 & '15 F15 MSport
    Fuse/Relay located up behind glovebox. Check hood switch for the alarm.

Last edited by Zulu95; 12-04-2020 at 09:20 AM.

My Cars
    2002 Bmw X5 3.0
    Ok, so which of those relays is the one that's going to be tied to the SRS system/Crash module? I was thinking about the hood latch re the alarm, but with the crash response (flashers, interior lights, doors unlocking) I figured I'd start there. Thanks!

My Cars
    '13 E70 & '15 F15 MSport