Thread: Basket Case or not?

My Cars
    93 BMW 325is

Basket Case or not?

Hello , I'm new to this section of the form. I'm usually involved with E36 and E46 track modified cars.
    I recently picked up a 2002 745 l i.
    A friend of mine was looking at the car about a year ago, ask me to check it over after work one day before he bought it. He didn't want to wait 2 hours and bought the car anyway.
    I stopped over to check it out, interior and exterior we're in pretty good condition. He started the engine, it sounded good, but the entire instrument cluster lit up like a Christmas tree. And the iDrive was scrambled. He drove the car about a week like that, until it finally started dumping coolant. He said it ran and drove good. Even though all of the warning lights being on. I checked the coolant leak and it is leaking out of the weep hole just to the side and under the water pump. Coolant bypass tube under the intake is leaking. He knew he would never be able to sell the car the way it was, and was going to call the scrap yard to come get it. I think they offered him $300, I said I would give him five I believe. I was mostly interested in the engine.
    I remove the intake and Valley Pan replace the coolant tube with one of those collapsible ones. Of course replace the short one going to the water pump and some hoses while I was there.
    I replace the iDrive screen with a used one, so now that worked. But no sound from anything including the chirp from locking and Unlocking The Doors. I bought some Optical lollipop jumpers, and I believe I have to replace the ask unit first. There's probably other problems as well, but since that's the first unit in the system, I'll have to replace that to check the rest.