Thread: E90 N52K - Changing VCG, anything I should know, torque question, tips, tricks, etc?

My Cars
    2010 BMW 328i

E90 N52K - Changing VCG, anything I should know, torque question, tips, tricks, etc?

2010 328i, N52K

Im a newbie to this, so bear with me. I'm going to be replacing my VCG in the next few days since I spotted (and smelled) an oil leak, and decided to replace the valvetronic motor gasket while I'm at it since I heard that can also cause oil leaks. I've got two main questions, but I'm also looking for any advice anyone's got. Here's the guide I'm following https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lu6YJ_io6E

1) I did some digging, and according to Bentley the valve cover bolts should be torqued to 9 Nm (7 ft-lb) on an N52KP engine (mini-question: am I correct in assuming N52KP is the same as N52K?), and the valvetronic motor bolts should be at 10 Nm. Do those sound about right?

2) I initially read that people recommend using Permatex Ultra Black, and that was what I was planning on using, but later I read that there was no need. Which is better? If I should use Ultra Black, how much? Is the amount he puts in the video above alright (he starts putting it at 28:20, https://youtu.be/1lu6YJ_io6E?t=1700 )?

Again, any advice whether it relates to those questions or not is very much appreciated.

Thanks.

My Cars
    How many miles are on the vehicle? If you're over 100k, I would be recommending to replace the complete valve cover, and not just the gasket.
    ASE and BMW Master Certified Technician

My Cars
    2010 BMW 328i
    Quote Originally Posted by White94RX View Post
    How many miles are on the vehicle? If you're over 100k, I would be recommending to replace the complete valve cover, and not just the gasket.
    Its at 84k. I was thinking of waiting till the next time there's a leak in that area (whether that be due to a gasket or cover itself cracked) to replace it, but do you think it would be better to go ahead and get that done now?

My Cars