Thread: Lower Power and Stumbling

My Cars
    1982 320is /1973 2002tii

Lower Power and Stumbling

Sorry this is a bit long, but i've looked on the boards for a while and haven’t quite seen the same symptoms like what i’m experiencing. I’m a novice mechanic, but have been working on my cars for a few years fixing what needs fixing. My 1982 320i hasn’t been running great since I bought it. I didn't pass DEQ emissions the first time but with some high octane fuel adds from a mechanic, we got it through. And while a house project is keeping me from working on the car at the moment, I thought I'd get some feedback on how I should approach it when i have time next month.

Car starts up easily every time and idles smooth. Idles a bit high (1100) as I adjusted it after I bought it as it had been randomly cutting out while driving. No problems since. List of things i’ve done to the car since I bought it last year:

• New Spark plugs
    • New Plug wires
    • New Ignition Coil as the plug connection snapped off
    • New Battery
    • Oil change and filter
    • New Vacuum hose to Distributor
    • New Air Filter
    • New Air intake bellows ( no vacuum leaks )
    • New coolant hoses ( except for water pump hose) and new thermostat (80deg)
    • New Hazard switch
    • New light switch
    • New fuel filter
    • 3 new braided hoses from tank to fuel pump/filter.

This is the general sequence of events:

1. Starts up great.
    2. If I pull away shortly after start up it pulls decently and feels kinda strong, but I don’t want to rev it too much as it's not warmed up yet.
    3. After a minute or two, I’ll get some strong stutters when driving. It will kind of bog and then surge. If I’m higher RPM ( over 2 or 3k) it will be a bit better, but not smooth at all.
    4. Once it's warmed up, it will run smoother, but doesn’t have the same power as after i first started the car. And I can feel some light stuttering through the range.
    5. Idle is flat and quiet.