RM European Auto Parts

Thread: weird throttle cut despite dsc turned off?

My Cars
    02 325i sedan

weird throttle cut despite dsc turned off?

Hello, everyone, I'm new here, and very new to BMW's. Anywho, there's an interesting problem with my current BMW (2002 325i sedan non-M).

Lately, it's been snowing here, and I decided, "Hey, why not have some fun?" So I take me car out to an isolated area far from all civilization to give it a little rip (I'm completely new to RWD, so I was taking it REALLY easy).

While I was doing some 5 mph skids, I started to lose my angle and basically start to spin out. I added more gas with more steering wheel angle to attempt to maintain my angle as well as make it more aggressive. But the crazy thing is that my engine started cutting throttle and made it impossible to go further. The weird thing is that DSC is turned off, so engine throttling shouldn't happen... right?

I don't know if I'm missing another safety feature to disable, or if there is some obscure mechanical problem, or if it is because my diff is still open...

Everything is stock besides some coilovers (I keep planning to upgrade more, but I have to use my money for other things, big sad), and as said earlier, diff is still open, but I plan to weld it when I get paid enough to get a welding rig.

And yes, I understand that even in an isolated area quiet of any hazards and risks, it's still irresponsible to do things like tiny skids outside of the track. I plan on going to this track close by to me once my diff is welded, and start learning how to drift for real. I just wanted to experiment, but more so have fun, and have a better understanding of how a rwd car differs from a fwd vehicle (I'm also aware that practicing controlled loss of control in the snow isn't a good entry point for learning how to drift, but again, I just wanted to have fun).

Um... thank you for having me

My Cars
    95 m3+, 03 ZHP, Mk4 Tdi
    hello...