RM European Auto Parts

Thread: E46 Preventive maintenance

My Cars
    2003 BMW 325i

E46 Preventive maintenance

I am buying a 2003 325i 5 speed manual from a friend of mine, he is putting a new motor with 90k miles on it (car has 140k). While it is out of the car should I do anything to it? We are already putting new headers on. I am new to the world of BMWs and have 0 clue what I'm doing so any help is appreciated.
    Last edited by Endernation101; 01-12-2020 at 10:58 PM.

My Cars
    2018 BMW M240i
    With 140k miles on the car, sans engine, I’d see if the cooling system parts that remain in the car have been replaced. The consensus is that the E46 cooling system needs to be overhauled at 100k miles. The installation of aftermarket cooling system parts is strictly verboten!
    Check the body where the rear suspension system bolts the body. Early E46s has issues with the sheet metal cracking.
    The suspension is certainly due for an overhaul. Struts, tierods, lower control arms+bushings, rear struts all need to be refreshed at about 75k miles.

My Cars
    2003 BMW 325i
    Does anything need to be done with the engine? I also plan on installing coil overs ( not to slam it or give it camber but just to lower a little it) and the cracking part your talking about is the subframe correct?
    Last edited by Endernation101; 01-13-2020 at 08:37 AM.

My Cars
    1974 2002, 2009 128i
    If it needs a new engine, I'm suspecting maintenance was not a high priority for the previous owner(s). You get to play catch-up.