Thread: Need to R&R left side head light assembly 2003 Z4

My Cars
    2003 BMW Z4

Need to R&R left side head light assembly 2003 Z4

I had my wife's 03 Z4 in the shop and first was told my headlight problem was just a bad Xenon lamp. However, as soon as they replaced the lamp it blew immediately. Further research indicated that the headlamp assembly needs to be replaced. To say that the cost for them to install a new assembly was a shock would be an understatement (north of $2700)

I know the headlamp assembly replacement requires the entire front end to come off, so I have two questions:

1. Does anyone know of any good step-by-step instructions (written to video) for doing this job?

2. Anyone know of any good (reasonable) sources for a new headlamp assembly?

I'm not a BMW expert but not afraid to turn a wrench either if I can find decent instructions.
    Regards,
    Basil

My Cars
    2004 Z4R 06&12 Cooper S
    Quote Originally Posted by BCFBasil View Post
    I had my wife's 03 Z4 in the shop and first was told my headlight problem was just a bad Xenon lamp. However, as soon as they replaced the lamp it blew immediately. Further research indicated that the headlamp assembly needs to be replaced. To say that the cost for them to install a new assembly was a shock would be an understatement (north of $2700)

I know the headlamp assembly replacement requires the entire front end to come off, so I have two questions:

1. Does anyone know of any good step-by-step instructions (written to video) for doing this job?

2. Anyone know of any good (reasonable) sources for a new headlamp assembly?

I'm not a BMW expert but not afraid to turn a wrench either if I can find decent instructions.
    Regards,
    Basil
    Google search.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OP4ZBkUcxxs

2700 is robbery.
    Ebay search for replacement