Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time LS swapper, first time e46 owner.

My Cars
    2003 325ci Coupe

First time LS swapper, first time e46 owner.

As the title suggests, I am beginning the first LS swap of my life. I have done a lot of engine replacements before, but each of those was replacing an engine with the same engine, or nearly the same (acura motor into a honda). I've been a technician for the passed 4+ years, mostly with toyota.

Why I chose this direction for my project has to do with a couple factors. First, the e46's look really good. I've always thought so. So simple, yet so attractive. And, in my area anyways, there is a plethora of broken down, dirt cheap, straight bodied e46's for sale. This was another big factor in my decision making. I found the perfect candidate for what i wanted to do, talked the guy down a couple hundred, and brought home a 2003 325ci coupe, Steel Blue, automatic, E46 with a blown headgasket for 700$

IMG_3355.jpgIMG_3356.jpg

The engine i chose was less because of my preferences, and more because of availability. This was because the motor I would've chosen first (LQ4/LQ9 6.0) was already cleaned out of every pick and pull, or waaaay out of my price range when sold privately. So i found an LM7 at a pick n pull that seemed to be in good shape, and brought it home for 275$ with the wiring harness, manifolds, and power steering pump.

IMG_3400.jpg