Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trans Failsafe Puzzle. Can You Unravel It?

My Cars
    '95 325i, '02 540i

Trans Failsafe Puzzle. Can You Unravel It?

Hello E39 geniuses.
    I've been using the vast amount of information you've posted here to try and get my E39 up and going. It's currently stuck in the dreaded Trans. Failsafe Prog. But After lots of searching, testing, searching and more testing I'm coming up empty-handed. I have LOTS of experience with E36s (and currently race one with NASA, but this 5-series seems to be getting the best of me. I'd love to see if any of you can spot something I've missed, or suggest something new to try.

The car: 2002 BMW 540i. Automatic (5HP24) with 146,810 miles.

The issue: The dreaded Trans. Failsafe Prog. It has been ever since I bought it about 6 months ago. It's stuck in what I assume is 3rd gear and when you shift into reverse initially there is a large clunk.

Side note: The car also has codes showing problems with the VANOS, and there's also (what appears to be common?) coolant leakage around the valley pan (hey, I bought this car for a song, okay?). I have the intake manifold off, and a vanos rebuild kit and valley pan seal kit are on the way, so that shouldn't be a problem. But no info is bad info when it comes to trying to diagnose an issue!

Testing, 1, 2, 3....
    So obviously I started with justing checking codes. I have PA Soft running on a WinXP machine. It connects to the car just fine and when I go into the EGS tab, it shows three errors:

02[002] Pressure Controller EDS2
    04[004] Pressure Controller EDS4
    61[097] V-Batt. Supply T. 30

What does that last one mean?????