Thread: DIY Welding on rusty rocker panel?

My Cars
    e39 520ia (year:1997)

DIY Welding on rusty rocker panel?

Hi.

So i noticed this winter left me with a nice surprise on my right rocker which is that the front part had rusted through. The rust is only on the bottom exterior part,the inside has no rust yet. I think this is actually my fault bcs car was damaged there and then i resprayed it kinda in a hurry, so i didn't do adequate job with the compressor but i just rattle canned it and put the chore on do it later list. This is also the only rust issue on my car.

So i am thinking of buying a new e39 or to try to repair this at least semi properly via cutting the rust out and weld the new metal in and then fill/repaint the whole thing. I don't wanna fiberglass or styrofoam patch it.

I have a question if such of a job is even plausible to succeed ,since i have no experience in welding whatsoever and i have yet to buy a welder too? I know how to do paintjobs on cars and have tools for it though. Did anyone do this kind of thing on their own?

If that is possible what kind of welder and metal do i need? I would prefer to buy a used stick welding machine over the MIG bcs of the portability and off course the price is important too. Hope this isn't a stupid question ,but like i said i know nothing on this topic yet. But i always wanted to have a welder and learn this skill-set and i think this might be a fun project to start. Bcs if i learn welding there is almost nothing I can't DIY on cars.

Hope this post serves as a lesson for you all too : do not neglect "small" issues thinking "yeah i'll do this next year" , bcs stuff like this is what happens.

Tnx.

My Cars
    ‘01 540’00 528T’03 525T