Thread: What else to replace along with lifter tick fix?

My Cars
    1995 BMW M3

What else to replace along with lifter tick fix?

I would like to start off by saying I am not good with cars. Besides the basic stuff of changing fluids and brake pads I am an absolute noob.

That being said, I have a 1995 M3(S50) track car with 133,000 miles that I take mostly to Homestead and Sebring. It has basic stuff that was done by the previous owner and some by one of my local mechanics. It has a second fuel pump(no more fuel starvation finally), headers(cheap off of ebay from what i understand), exhaust system, mishimoto cooling system, bimmerworld power steering kit, ground control suspension and camber plates, UUC poly engine mounts, tranny mounts, RTABs, and short shifter.

I get the infamous lifter ticking at the track when the engine gets really hot. I am running Redline 15W50 about a half quart overfilled and this has definitely reduced the ticking. Before I ran this oil I would get the tick after the first session on track and it would stay basically the whole day.

Is this something that can be adjusted or do I have to replace a part? I am having that looked at in a week by a mechanic and wanted to know what parts I should order (along with a valve cover gasket that I already have from bimmerworld) to fix this issue along with any other parts to *future proof* the car now that he is already going to be in there? I read something about a pick up tube cracking on these cars so is this something that is easy to replace? This car is only used to drive to the track, drive on the track and drive home from the track. Other than that it sits in a garage.

Sorry if any of these questions are dumb.

Secondly, which transmission oil would be most appropriate for track purposes? I know there is a ton of information out there on which oil should be used but I only car about what is "best" for a track only car in South Florida temps?