Thread: 1990 325i E30 No Start/Crank But Clicks

My Cars
    1999 BMW E46 328i

1990 325i E30 No Start/Crank But Clicks

Hi, I have a 1990 BMW 325i E30, Automatic Transmission, around 100,000+ miles.

Disclaimer: Sorry if I sound like an idiot, I’m by no means a mechanic/technician, I’m still a noob when it comes to cars.

The car has sat without starting for around a year+ or so.

The battery has been recently replaced and tested so I ruled that issue out.

When I turn the key in the ignition, the dash lights come on, and when I turn it to start, I can hear a clicking coming from the engine bay, and I assume the click is coming from the starter?

I thought it could have been the Main Relay (61-36-1-729-004) so I bought a replacement and replaced it, but I still have the same issue, I hear a click when I turn the key but it doesn’t start or crank.

I was able to start the car by shorting the starter with a screwdriver, and it runs fine after it’s started.

I’m having trouble figuring out what the issue is here.

Any help is appreciated and please let me know if any other information is needed!

Thank you.

dworthy is offline Wagon meister :) BMW Tech Expert
    My Cars
    16 220i 05 325it 05 M3
    Welcome to the Forum!

I would first start with testing the ignition switch, for they are known to go bad on E-30's over time, well pretty much any car of that age.

So to check to see if you are getting the signal down to the starter, you will need a multi-meter.

Not sure what tools you do have here, or have access to.

Lastly before you start to do anything, check the date of the timing belt. They have a finite lifespan of about 4yr/50k miles, if it breaks, you project will become a paperweight IMO.
    Darin
    Current:
    16 220i Active Tourer Platinsilver MET (C08)/Dakota Black (PDSW), P7ACA, P7LDA, P7LHA, P9BDA, 6sp Manual - Wife's new toy!