Thread: Another E39 Trans Failsafe Mode problem

My Cars
    1998 BMW 540i

Another E39 Trans Failsafe Mode problem

Hello Bimmerforumites,

I just recently purchased a 1998 540i for really cheap that has transmission issues. I know there are a lot of posts on this, and I have read quite a few of them, hopefully I’m posting this in the right place and no one minds another thread on this problem.

I purchased my vehicle from someone on craigslist who didn’t know much about the vehicle or at least wasn’t very forthcoming with information if he did know about it. It has been in transmission failsafe mode since I got it two weeks ago. I really wanted the 540i and I’ve fallen in love with the M62 engine. I was pretty confident I could diagnose any problem it had and find the procedures to fix any issues. (I went to MMI for BMW motorcycles and Harley Davidson so I have some experience with German engineering and V-engines.)

After reading some posts and doing some cheap diagnosis I’ve come to the conclusion it is the A Clutch Hub in the transmission. I’ve ordered a new “improved” clutch hub that is supposedly thicker around where the snap ring goes to prevent this problem. I’ve also read that this happens not only because of the thin metal in the clutch hub but also because of pressure regulation issues. I also purchased this updated pressure regulator and will install it while I am taking apart the trans. (The update to this seems to just be o-rings to help seal the orifice and keep metal on metal contact from damaging it further.)

Thank you for any and all help and advice moving forward. If there are any other parts you think I should rebuild or upgrade to get this tranny running smoothly I would greatly appreciate some guidance! The parts are in the mail and I should be able to start this soon. I’m guessing I will need some gasket and seal kits as well a new snap ring or two.

Symptoms: