RM European Auto Parts

Thread: Coolant leak e46 328ci

My Cars
    2000 bmw 328ci

Coolant leak e46 328ci

IMG_6620.jpgHello I am new here, new to bmw’s, new to taken care of cars myself but I want to learn.
    Couple weeks ago my upper radiator hose started leaking so I swapped it. Now every couple days my coolant light is turning on and my reservoir is drying out but I’m never finding puddles or drips UNTIL yesterday I finally found an area dripping coolant however I am really new to car maintenance so I am not sure what I am looking at so I have pictures provided. It is left middle of of my engine if facing the engine bay.
    Last edited by ghostcoast; 04-18-2019 at 05:01 PM. Reason: need to ad photo

My Cars
    Unless you can actually see where the coolant is dripping from, the only way you're going to find it is with a pressure tester. You'd likely be better off finding an independent shop that specializes in BMW and see what they recommend. Keep in mind, there's no such thing as a cheap BMW, no matter how much or how little you paid for it.
    ASE and BMW Master Certified Technician

My Cars
    2001 e46 323i
    Given that you've just started maintaining cars by yourself, I'm going to bet on the fact that you didn't bleed the cooling system (no offense, it happened to most of us I guess) after replacing the hose and that the coolant light is due to air circulating where the sensor is, instead of coolant. If you didn't refill between each time the coolant light came on that's practically a given and you should watch a tutorial on how to bleed the system on youtube and act accordingly.
    If you did, I'm going to assume that your coolant system is aging and that replacing that hose somehow moved the issue to another weak point.
    An air pocket could also cause an over pressurization of the system, causing the leak.
    Last edited by Breeze1; 04-18-2019 at 04:29 PM.