Thread: Brand new

My Cars
    Bmw 318

Brand new

Hi all.
    I'm completely new to bmw's and have purchased a 2003 bmw 318i se.
    I was half ass'd looking for a bigger car and this one literally pulled up in front of me for sale. Now I'm an e46 fanatic although still brand new and learning.
    I love my e46 and want to do all I can for it. I know I've come in at a learners level but think it's for the best with my lack of experience.
    I have looked into common faults and dealt with problems I've had so far which have been knocking from the rear drivers side, coolant leak, and corroded sensor wires. I Also have a non working diamond key fob, warning light for rear drivers side lights although they all work and I'm having the airbag replaced under bmw recall.
    Currently it has 125k on the clock and is running fine. I guess I have a few questions. 1. What should I replace now. 2. What should I keep an eye on. 3. What work could I do myself as a complete beginner. And last of all what upgrades can I do to get the best drive and enjoyment. I want to know it's mechanically sound and running at its best and up to date with styling.

Thanks
    G
    Last edited by The G; 04-15-2019 at 06:11 AM.

My Cars
    2018 BMW M240i
    Welcome! The E46 platform is one of my favorites. I owned a 2001 330Ci for 17 years before moving in to my current bimmer, a 2018 M240i.

You’re asking the right questions. Did you get any service records with the car? Service records tell you how well the car has been maintained. And, I assume the car has a manual transmission.