Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Avin Avant 4 - My Experience So Far

My Cars
    2011 BMW 335is DCT

Avin Avant 4 - My Experience So Far

Hi all,

I know there is a lot of hate for Avin around these parts (and for good reason!), but I just wanted to send along my experience in installing and using the brand new Avin Avant 4. This install was done on a 2002 530i with DSP. Please bear in mind that I only received this unit last weekend, but I will try and update this thread with new experiences and feedback. I am also not an electrical engineer or technician. Simply an enthusiast, hobbyist, and DIYer, so my feedback will be framed from that perspective.

TLDR: It is damn impressive. Disappointed with the performance of your factory DSP (or Hi-Fi) sound system? Want to exploit all of the impressive features and integration of an Android interface? Have a desire to unlock the true potential of your BMW’s IBUS and CAN bus computer systems? Do you have even a modicum of experience using a screwdriver? Then run, don't walk, to Avin's website and buy the Avant 4.

First thing's first, you will receive NO instructions in the box. In fact, the box doesn't have any Avin or Avant branding on it (at least the one I received). As far as I was concerned, I could have ordered one of those terribad generic e39 Android head units from eBay. Thankfully I have installed plenty of head units in my day, but still - the lack of in-box assistance and the spaghetti monster of cabling was a nightmare. For a $800+ unit with all of the desirable accessories, I was frustrated to say the least.