Thread: Bmw e39

My Cars
    BMW E39 Oxfordgrün II

Bmw e39

Hi! Everybody.
    I'm a newbie here, and I'm glad to be part of this family!
    Today I need some advice about a 2001 BMW e39 Oxfordgrün II Oxford Green 430 I just purchase today, it is a 523i, I know some of you will say I should of purchase a 525i or above, at this time this is the only BMW e39 at a price I can afford and in very good shape in Dominican republic. I've always love BMWs this is my favorite brand but I was stock with other brand that I could afford at the time. So now I would like to know what should I expect from this car in term of reliability where to source cheap parts and so on. I've read about this car on other forums but they are dated thread, and I don't really find any info about the 523i engine etc... I almost forgot to mention that my E39 is the German version not USA.
    Thank you in advance for your help....

My Cars
    1997 BMW E39 525i
    Hi, I drive 523i aswell.
    It's a smooth engine, there's a much bigger supply of 523i's than 525i's because it was an entry model.
    525i is more powerful and effortless, of course, but if you think you will feel you made a wrong choice, you won't.
    Practically they are both 2500 ccm but there is a cpu difference if I'm right, haven't done a lot of research.
    What I can tell you is that it is a reliable engine, it's a detuned version of 525i, so it keeps the refinement of the straight six.
    If yours was maintened properly and if it's well equipped, you found a jewel. It has good power if you don't compare it to the more powerful versions

In my experience, I had some minor issues with the atf oil container, just dont fill it up with more than half.
    And put on sport suspension because car feels like a heavy boat on stock suspension. Mine's on sport suspension, drilled discs and bigger calipers.
    Other than that, I have nothing else to mention.
    Good luck!

My Cars
    BMW E39 Oxfordgrün II