Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keep Driving Daily or Preserve the Miles? 2001 740i M Sport - 70,000mi

My Cars
    2001 740i M Sport

Keep Driving Daily or Preserve the Miles? 2001 740i M Sport - 70,000mi

Hey Everyone,

First time posting here. I’m also a first time BMW owner. I recently had the opportunity to buy a 2001 740i from a family friend for a good deal. I’ve been using it as my daily driver for the past 8 months or so now. In that time, I’ve been stopped by a couple people who’ve said how much they like my car and pointing things out that I was not aware of. I learned that I had the M Sport package and everything that it included. At the time I didn’t think too much about it. Just recently when looking up videos on how to do some minor work, I came across a few posts on this forum and also other instances giving me the impression that the 2001 740i M Sport is the sought after version of this car. Looking at others for sale online, it appears that this version sells at a premium compared to the others.

Now I’ve been curious if I’m shooting myself in the foot. I’ve already put 7k miles on the car and haven’t owned it for even a year yet. I’ve gone from 63,000mi to 70,000mi. Is this a car that I shouldn’t be driving daily? Is it possible this car could actually appreciate in value if I keep the miles low? I’m already surprised how much the same car with 90-150k miles is selling for. Just wondering if this community thinks it’s worth preserving the miles or if it’s unlikely to appreciate and isn’t a huge deal to drive this into the 100k range as a daily driver.

My Cars
    E30 E38 E46 E85 F150 GTI