Thread: 98 750IL running on one bank

My Cars
    1998 750IL

98 750IL running on one bank

Ok guys, lets see who has some ideas on this. 1998 750 IL, V12 of course, 162,000K miles. Ive been driving it for about 8 months. Never had any issues, always started right up and ran like a top. Last November I returned home from a 4 hour trip, parked her in the driveway and retired for the night. I then went to start her the next morning, nothing, no crank, no start. Had the common symptoms, had power, lights, dash, etc.. but no crank. So after researching here and checking everything I could at home, off to my local BMW indie for help. This was in the December time frame.
    Indie then left for a church mission trip and the car sat at his place until end of January. After his diagnostics he determined failed EWS module, and now, of course, dead battery. He ordered a replacement EWS and installed it and a new battery as the other one was quite old.
    Now the odd parts start.... His software at this time would only show one DME. Bear in mind guys I am just relating what was communicated to me. Also, his software would not let him establish and link the EWS to the DME/car. The car would now spin over, but not start. He had another guy close by that used to work on older BMW's and had more diagnostics and software than he did, so off to the other guy on the wrecker my car went.