Thread: (E46) Burning Rubber Smell From Engine Bay

My Cars
    2004 BMW 330ci

(E46) Burning Rubber Smell From Engine Bay

Hello all,

Rambling Intro:

First of all, I'm a new guy here but I've had my 04 330ci for 1.5 years it's been doing pretty well starting out at 115,000 used. Until It was time to inspect it last summer and the guy at the shop wanted to rip me off majorly by racking up all these repairs and up charging for labor like many shops I've known in Pennsylvania. So I said screw all that noise and decided to learn how to work on my own beamer. I come from a family of mechanics and I've been working on computers and electronics for over 10 years so learning this car hasn't been as insanely hard as the general public likes to assume. I got my YouTube degree and $800 worth of common oil seals, tires, and a battery and it's finally ready for the road. (I can provide a list of repairs upon request)

Actual problem:

Before and after I replaced oil seals, and did general maintenance that was long overdue, I noticed a smell that came from the engine bay that was...like burning rubber but without any smoke. Think of it like you just got home from work on a hot summer day and you can smell the rubber from your tires but it's not a sharp odor to through off any alarms. The smell occurs after 2-3 minutes from a cold start and it's being blown from the mechanical fan. The serpentine belt is brand new (but again this suspicious smell existed before I put any work into the car at all.

I checked all moving parts to understand if there was a clearance issue and of course everything is fine. The only thing I haven't done was rip off all the pulleys on the motor to find a potential fault I can't see but I was hoping someone would have experienced this weird issue.

The motor hasn't exploded or caught on fire so it seems to be very minor. I still wanna try and figure it out before it turns into something expensive.

Thank you for your time

My Cars
    2000 E46 328i