Thread: E93 rear backup camera install

My Cars
    2001 330i 5-spd sprt pkg

E93 rear backup camera install

Hey guys. I have a 2007 E93 with nav and sport package and I acquired a rear backup camera. The instructions, in their entirety (no kidding) are:

Red: +12 volts
    Black: Ground
    Blue wire: connect for reverse image (if available)
    White wire: connect to remove guide lines

That's is. That's all the instructions are. Now, I have an actual engineering degree, but even I need a little more than that.

Any good DYIs out there? It is a Crux CBM-02T backup camera for 2007-2011 3 series.

Thanks.

Matt

My Cars
    2008 BMW E93 335i
    Just about to undertake the same task tomorrow, with similar vague instructions with my unit. From my understanding the following connections should be:

1. The blue and white (blue and black on my version) cable connects to the boot release wiring.
    2. The Red Connector from the back of the camera connect to the supplied black connector with and a black and red cable. The black cable connects to Ground and the red cable connects to the red cable on the RCA cable [See photo]IMG_5849.jpg
    3. The yellow RCA from the camera connects to the the supplied extension cable also with yellow RCA and routed to the front of the car. On my yellow RCA is also a thin red wire at each end, now i believe at the camera end the red wire connects to the positive on the reverse light as well, and at the monitor end there should be camera reverse control cable to connect to. For me this still needs to be confirmed as still expecting delivery of the android head unit.

Not sure what will be best yet in terms of running the cables from the lid into the boot, whether to to just to tie wire onto the existing wiring harness rubber grommet on the right of the boot, or to keep it neat and run on the left hand side and order parts 61136919420 & 21 and the rubber grommet (does anyone have the OEM part number for this corrugated rubber tubing?)