Thread: e34 Idler/Pitman arm replacement?

My Cars
    1991 BMW 525i, 08 g37

e34 Idler/Pitman arm replacement?

Hey folks,

Forgive me for another post on this topic, I've been trying to get some direction on my issue at least until I can get underneath the car and see for myself (i'm no mechanic by any means, but I do what I can).

Long story short, along with the usual steering play, I was experiencing some "wandering" and just a general unstable feeling when driving at higher speeds in my 525i. Took it to a local mechanic and they told me that the idler and pitman arm needed to be replaced and potentially the gearbox-- along with a $940+ quote. The tech had said it was so bad he recommended no longer driving the car and towing it home because the arm was ready to detach?

I'm hoping to try and tackle this on my own but i'm not sure where to start. I've found a number of threads and diagrams but no actual DIYs. Also, I came across this thread where the person was told something very similar from a mechanic and actually ended up just tightening everything down and his issue was solved-https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/showthread.php?995332-PITMAN-arm/page2

Anyone done this job before that could provide some insight? What are the chances that the gearbox would also need to be replaced along with the arms?

Any insight is much appreciated.
    Omar
    Attached Images Attached Images

My Cars
    2003.5 E46 M3, 1992 e34

e34 Idler/Pitman arm replacement?

Edit: I had wrong part in mind. Sorry.
    Last edited by jmile46; 12-12-2018 at 08:08 PM.

My Cars
    1992 525it