Thread: New to E21's: quick hello and a bit of help needed!

My Cars
    1982 320is /1973 2002tii

New to E21's: quick hello and a bit of help needed!

(Warning, a bit long!)

Hi there,

Recently purchased an '82 320is that I found to use for parts but have decided to fix it up a bit and keep it driving. I've had a 2002 for a while, but this car is new to me. I'm a novice mechanic, but willing to get my hands dirty and want to do as much as i can to get it running well. I've been looking a lot on here to learn as much as i can, but still a bit unsure on a well, a lot of stuff!!

So the first task at hand is getting it to pass emissions. I failed the first time with a high CO reading of 1.6% and need to be under 1%. HC's were ok and it passed visual inspection with no smoke out the back ( at least that time!)

things i've fixed/replaced since then:
    - spark plugs
    - new oil and filter 20w50 castrol gtx
    - battery
    - air filter
    - new rubber boot at bottom of air filter housing
    - vacuum line to distributor
    - cleaned out radiator with all new hoses, bmw blue coolant and new 80deg thermostat

- checked 02 with multimeter and reading fluctuated from about .4v to .6v. not sure if it should have bounced around or not, kinda new to that.
    - checked spark plugs and 2 out of 4 looked good.

Changing thermostat was a huge help. it wasn't getting warm enough, so now its getting just below 1/2 way, and isn't stumbling at low RPM's like it was before the change. The car starts up every time with ease, so thats been good.

Now, the not so good: I went again to DEQ today and the car was all up to temp and felt like it was running good, but when she asked my to hit the gas, i think i hit it a bit hard and i guess there was smoke out the back, so an automatic Fail! damn it, She said it wasn't that bad, only on revving the engine, but still a Fail.

3 things to add that or may not be of importance: