RM European Auto Parts

Thread: BMW 320i 2001 possible window regulator issue?

My Cars
    BMW 320i 2001

BMW 320i 2001 possible window regulator issue?

Hi there,

Just last week I purchased a BMW E46 320i 2001 for a reasonable price. It's in lovely condition a nice dark blue colour and only done 55,000 kms so I'm pretty chuffed so far.
    However went out for a drive on the weekend and had all the windows down as it was a lovely afternoon, when trying to put them back up rear left refuses and makes odd noises. Pretty disappointed not like it's a new car so whatever i guess!
    So I have no mechanical experience but I've done a little research and from my understanding I think it's the window regulator. I've made a little video of it so hopefully someone with experience can confirm this.....? https://youtu.be/LsaRYDOa9I8
    I'd like to try and buy the part myself rather than being overcharged by a mechanic but need to make sure I'm buying the right part or parts? European car mechanics can be expensive in New Zealand, maybe I could try and fix it myself, buy a Haynes manual and give it a crack? Or not a good idea for a first time repair attempt?

Thanks in advance

Hensby
    Last edited by Hensby; 11-18-2018 at 09:27 PM.

My Cars
    E39M5, E500 4WD
    I don't need to watch the video; you have described exactly one of the most common E46 failures. Yes, you need a window regulator.

It's a very easy job, except for the part where you need to remove the vapor barrier without ripping it. This is a sheet of foam rubber/plastic which is held on by a very thick black gooey sealant. You need to use a very sharp knife or razor blade to cut the sealant, without cutting the foam. This is by far the most difficult part of the job.

You need to go to Pelican Parts or Bavarian Autosport , and go to their DIY blogs, and watch a video of this job being done. Again, it is actually very easy.