Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need some advice on a project car

My Cars
    1995 540i

I need some advice on a project car

I recently acquired a '95 540i. It had been sitting, unused, in a garage for the last two years. The man I got it from said that I could have the car if I brought a tow truck and took it out of his garage for him, so I essentially got it for free.

I'm no mechanical genius, so I took it to a trusted local shop to have it started and inspected. When they did the inspection, they called me and said that it was running on 3 of 8 cylinders. In addition, they said that they were not getting codes as to which cylinders were misfiring and why they were misfiring.

I'm posting here to ask the people what they think I should do with this car and what they might think the problem could be.

I have 2 options I am considering. As a precursor to these options, I want to say that I am a 23-year-old with a limited budget and a daily driver that needs to be replaced in the near future. If I decide to get this E34 running, it will be my new daily driver. The maximum that I want to spend on fixing up this E34 is $1500.

Option 1 is that I bring the car back from the shop and start working on it myself to try to get it into working order. I've been looking for an opportunity to learn to work on cars, and I see this car as a good chance to do so. I'm planning on putting in fresh oil and gas, and replacing the spark plugs. If that does little to help, I will then move on to replacing the ignition coils and cross my fingers that I'll have all cylinders running by then and the problem won't be something more complicated like piston rings.

Option 2 is that I will sell the car for parts. My hope is that I would be able to get $600 to $800 for parts because the car, apart from the engine, is in excellent shape.