Thread: 1998 740iL Wipers and washer not working, tried everything

My Cars
    1998 740iL, 5/98

1998 740iL Wipers and washer not working, tried everything

I have owned this car since it was new, and have debugged and replaced many things on it myself. I am a competent mechanic since my Dad's rule was that you couldn't drive until you learned how to maintain.

My wipers and washer pump both stopped working simultaneously, when it was drizzling, of course, so I stopped and checked the fuses, but no visible blown or broken fuses under the hood or in the trunk. Once home, I searched this forum and others for similar problems and tested the fuses for the wipers and washer motor using a multi-meter for connectivity. They all conducted DC current.

I ordered replacement relays for the K36 and K37 relays before I opened the E-box and pulled them. There was no water or corrosion at the connectors or in the E-box, and when I pulled the relays, the prongs were a bit discolored but not corroded, and had bright spots where the contacts held them. I did not pull the receptacles that the relays plugged into, but replacing the relays with new ones had no effect.

I then looked for where the wipers and the washer had a component in common, and the only one I could find was the switch on the steering column. The new switch came today and installation was pretty easy since I didn't have to remove the steering wheel, etc., but after installing the new switch, still no wipers or washer pump function.

I am stumped, and am asking for any help or ideas.

My Cars
    2001 7-S62, 2002 X5 S2,
    Definitely odd. I rescued a low mile 1998 750iL that had the same issue. It had sat for a couple years, and the wipers were in the UP position. I did the same thing, checking relays and power to the wiper motor by the master cylinder. I quit messing with it, and replaced the weakened battery - so it sat over night disconnected. The next day it began working again with the fresh battery.