Thread: Intent to Purchase: 335d

My Cars
    2017 Focus ST

Intent to Purchase: 335d

Hey all,

First post in this forum. I'm new to BMW. I've only owned one for 6 months and it's a beautiful 2001 325xi that my wife daily drives. Can't stand that I'm the one that has to drive the brand new 2017 and SHE gets to drive the 2001! I love that dang car!

I'm selling mine. I've been tossing some cars around and have ultimately landed on the 335... i or d... Not sure which one I'm going to go with yet. Obviously the gasser is far more available and can be had for less money but the call of the d (giggity) is tempting me.

Let me tell you where I stand, and maybe you can tell me that the d is not a good choice for me. To put it simply... This is what I want out of my 335

Straight line power. I don't care to autocross or to aggressively drive around corners. It's far too dangerous and I'm not about that. I do, however, love racing in straight lines with my boys.
    As much reliability as possible. Obviously... No one wants their car to be a money pit.
    Mod-ability. I absolutely will be modifying whichever 335 I get. I will stay with stock turbos for a long time to come and will start the first couple years with bolt ons. Exhaust, intercooler, intake, tune, etc.
    I don't mind performing my own maintenance. Do I want my car to have constant maintenance? No. I know the gasser will has oil changes every 4k miles and differential services every 15-20k miles etc etc. If the diesel requires those things PLUS another 4 things every 5k miles I don't know how interested I am. If I have to swap this fluid that fluid this fluid that fluid, purchase additional additives all the time, take it to a shop to have carbon removed all the time... I'm not sure I'm into it.