Thread: E46 Strong Clutch Upgrade

My Cars
    2002 325i Steel Blue

Question E46 Strong Clutch Upgrade

Hello all!

New to the forum, long time reader. I cant seem to find an answer to my specific question, so here we are.

I have a 2002 325i 122k miles, with a slipping clutch. I would like to upgrade the clutch to be stronger than factory. I'm looking to try to stay under $600 if I can. If not, such is life.

TLDR Main questions:
    1. What brands are good/reliable
    2. Stronger stage 1, or stage 2?
    3. Will an upgraded clutch extend the life of hard driving.
    4. Linkage upgrade, or stock.
    5. Yes i'm replacing the slave.
    6. I normally only use OEM. Making an exception here.

My unique scenario is I deliver pizza for a living. Yes, that's right, I get paid to drive this beautiful machine all day... and its the perfect delivery vehicle! I could go on all day about my life as a delivery driver, that tight cornering, impeccable U-turns..., responsive traffic merging and collision avoidance..., that sweet singing sound as she screams up to the red line, but I'm here for business today.

I drive very spirited. Got places to be. While staying within the confines of traffic laws... I tend to put her to the red line when accelerating up to speed limit, and coming out of corners frequently. Dont hit 6.5k often, but frequently hit 6 while shifting out of 1st. Second rarely sees 6k as its mostly town driving, but it does a ton of work. I do a lot of down shifting (with rev matching) into corners and pull out hard where the road and site lines allow. I'd be lying if I said the tires don't chirp on some of the more isolated corners of the town. That being said I really dont speed, that would cost me my lovely job, but I put her through the ropes where I can. Faster I'm up to speed, faster I'm off to another delivery.

I do about 150-230 miles in a day. The car happily pulls up to 6k approximately 20-25 times a day, if we're really busy.