Thread: Recommendations for suspension overhaul for 1998 328i?

My Cars
    1998 BMW 328i

Recommendations for suspension overhaul for 1998 328i?

Hi guys,

I'm hitting 160k miles on my car and the suspension is loose af. Car is extremely jumpy and loose when cornering especially at higher speeds.

I'm not a suspension expert. But I've worked extensively on my car. I would like to know what options are available to upgrade my suspension to get the best bang for buck to improve my car's performance on the street?

Thanks

My Cars
    99 M3

Quote Originally Posted by bonoz View Post
    Hi guys,

I'm hitting 160k miles on my car and the suspension is loose af. Car is extremely jumpy and loose when cornering especially at higher speeds I would like to know what options are available to upgrade my suspension to get the best bang for buck to improve my car's performance on the street?

Thanks
    At 160K miles you stock dampers have been toast for ~ 130K miles!!!
    Some of your choices will be limited by what part of country/what condition the roads are in your area.

Koni and Bilstein both offer great packages that range from OE replacement to Race.
    There will be some other items to look at such as Rear Shock Mounts (RSM), Rear Trailing Arm Bushings (RTAB), Forward Lower Control Arms (FLCA), Forward Lower Control Arm Bushings (FLCAB), Tie Rods, and Guide Supports/Strut Mounts.
    Buy Lemforder replacement parts for those items, except some folks recommend Meyle HD (solid outer ball joint) FLCA.
    For the FLCABushings, use the 1996+M3 Centered FLCABushing, but if you want some added Caster, use the 1995M3 Offset FLCABushing.
    For RSMs, use the E46M3/Convertible pieces.
    Get the paper body gaskets for both the RSMs and the front Strut mounts.

Avoid polyurethane RTBs, use stock style RTABushings with Toe Limiters. ‘Poly’ RTABs restrict motion to one plane or axis of rotation. The Rear Trailing Arm moves/rotates in at least two planes.